Janet Daby MP, Co-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Children in Police Custody
Janet Daby MP, Co-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Children in Police Custody

Please note that APPGs were dissolved with Parliament when the election was called. This APPG does not exist, and these pages remain for archival purposes.

The APPG on Children in Police Custody is made up of Officers and Members. All Officers and Members are Parliamentarians which means they are either a Member of the Houses of Commons or Lords.

Officers have responsibility for making decisions on the Group’s activities and are elected by fellow Parliamentarians. Members are invited to attend APPG meetingsĀ  and participate in the APPG’s activities.


The Co-Chairs of the APPG on Children in Police Custody are:

  • Janet Daby MP (Registered Contact)
  • Valerie Vaz MP

The Officers are:

  • Sir Robert Buckland KC MP
  • Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE KC


The Members are:

  • The Lord Balfe
  • Dawn Butler MP
  • The Rt. Rev. The Lord Bishop of Derby
  • The Lord Dubs
  • Florence Eshalomi MP
  • Patrick Grady MP
  • Sharon Hodgson MP
  • Dr Rupa Huq mP
  • Kim Johnson MP
  • Afzal Khan CBE MP
  • Seema Malhotra MP
  • Rachael Maskell MP
  • John McDonnell MP
  • Sir Bob Neill KC MP
  • Taiwo Owatemi MP
  • Liz Saville Roberts MP
  • Virendra Sharma MP
  • Edward Timpson CBE KC MP
  • Claudia Webbe MP
  • The Lord Woodley

The Secretariat is provided by Dr Miranda Bevan (Goldsmiths, University of London).

External Members

The APPG on Children in Police Custody is pleased to be supported by several external organisations. These are:

  • Alliance for Youth Justice
  • Child Rights Alliance for England
  • National Appropriate Adult Network
  • Just for Kids Law
  • Transform Justice

Individual external members are invited to attend APPG meetings, but do not have voting rights. These are:

  • Meka Beresford (Action for Race Equality)
  • Amy Campo McEvoy (NSPCC)
  • Jessica Edwards (Hackney Youth Justice Service)
  • Professor Dimitrios Giannoulopoulos (Goldsmiths, University of London)
  • Dr Vicky Kemp (University of Nottingham)
  • Caroline Liggins (Hodge, Jones & Allen LLP)
  • Fergal McFerran (Children’s Law Centre, Belfast)
  • Thomas Raeside (The Traveller Movement)
  • Brendan Shepherd (Unlock)
  • Ayomide Sotubo (Howard League for Penal Reform)
  • Phil Turner (Second Wave)
  • Marike Van-Harskamp (Redthread)
  • Dr Lucy Welsh (University of Sussex)
  • Staff from organisations including the College of Policing, the Office of the Children’s Commissioner for England, the Mayor’s Office for Policing and Crime, and the Youth Justice Board.
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search